East Carroll Parish School Board

Regular Meeting 6:30 PM

Tuesday, September 2, 2014


Members present: Mr. Gene Edmondson, Mrs. Carolyn Ward, Mrs. Jacqueline Folks, Mr. Roger Shoemaker, Mrs. Shirley Fairchild, Ms. Arlean Hampton, Mrs. Georjean Jackson and Mrs. Harriet Bridges


Members absent: Mr. Marion Carraway


The regular meeting of the East Carroll Parish School Board was called to order by Mrs. Georjean Jackson, president


Invocation was given by Mr. Gene Edmondson and the Pledge of allegiance was led by all.


Mrs. Jackie Folks moved, seconded by Mrs. Carolyn Ward to adopt the minutes of August 5, 2014 regular board meeting and August 27, 2014 special board meeting.




The following personnel changes were made during the month of September:




1.     Arthur Thomas                Technology Technician               Southside Elementary

2.     Gemma White                Teacher                                        Southside Elementary


Extended Sick Leave


1.     Judith Paitan                   Teacher                                        General Trass High School




1.     Angelia Brinkley             Ag Teacher                                  General Trass High School

2.     Vanessa Aldrich            Teacher                                        Southside Elementary

3.   Bertha Davis                Teacher                                        Southside Elementary

4.   Evangeline Fields          Food Technician                          Southside Elementary


Mr. Gene Edmondson moved, seconded by Mrs. Jackie Folks to adopt the following policies:


a.     Gifts

b.     Contracts and Compensation

c.     Employee Promotion

d.     Evaluation

e.     Employee Discipline

f.      Tenure

g.     Employee Dismissal

h.     Sick Leave



Ms. Arlean Hampton moved, seconded by Mr. Roger Shoemaker to approve the 2014-2015 Pupil Progression Plan.



Mrs. Jacqueline Folks moved, seconded by Mrs. Shirley Fairchild to approve Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Insurance Company’s proposal for automobile insurance in the amount of $44,529.




Mr. Gene Edmondson moved, seconded by Mrs. Jackie Folks to deny acceptance of students from Madison Parish School District’s schools – Wright Elementary, Tallulah Elementary, and Madison Middle School.




Mr. Gene Edmondson moved, seconded by Mrs. Harriet Bridges to adjourn.


Voting Against the Motion: Roger Shoemaker, Carolyn Ward, and Arlean Hampton

Voting For the Motion: Gene Edmondson, Shirley Fairchild, Harriet Bridges, and Georjean Jackson

Abstained: Jackie Folks