East Carroll Parish School Board:

Regular Meeting - 6:30 P.M.

Tuesday-January 9, 2018


Members present: Mr. Gene Edmondson, Mrs. Jacqueline Folks, Ms. Pamela Harvey, and Mrs. Wanda Jackson.


Absent: Mrs. Shirley Fairchild


The regular meeting of East Carroll Parish School Board was called to order by President, Mrs. Jacqueline Folks


Invocation was given by Mr. Gene Edmondson, and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by the audience.


Dr. Millikin, conducted the election for the School Board officers for 2018.


Gene Edmonds moved to have the 2017 officers re-elected by acclamation, it was seconded by Jacqueline Folks. 


Roll call vote- All for, none opposed


Mr. Gene Edmondson- Yes

Jaqueline Folks-Yes

Pamela Harvey-Yes

Wanda Jackson-Yes


Mrs. Wanda Jackson moved, seconded by Ms. Pamela Harvey to adopt the minutes of the December 5, 2017 regular board meeting.


Motion Passed


For Informational Purposes only:




1.      Denitra Patterson- Paraprofessional –Southside Elementary School

2.      Adaryl Moore- Teacher- Griffin Middle Academy


Extended Sick Leave


1.      Madelyn Matthews- School Resource Officer- Griffin Middle Academy

2.      Patsy Taylor- Federal Programs Receptionist- Central Office

3.      Marion Lovell- Teacher – Southside Elementary (Retro-active 10/25/17-01/08/18)




1.      Latonya Manning-Asst. Payroll Clerk (Retro-active 8/09/17 @$30.00/hr- (Part-Time)


*There was no use of facilities


Gene Edmondson moved, seconded by Wanda Jackson to approve a final bid recap for the buses. After three unsuccessful advertisements for bids, a negotiated bid was accepted from Joe Collins for $3065.00. The following buses were included:


                                Year        Make/Model                                     VIN#

1.      1992      INTERNATIONAL BUS                  1HVVAZRM7NH408725

2.      1992      INTERNATIONAL BUS                  1HVBAZRM9NH408726

3.      1997      INTERNATIONAL BUS                  1HVBBABM2WH553570

4.      1997      INTERNATIONAL BUS                 1HVBBABM6WH553569

5.      1990      CHEVROLET BUS  #14                 1GBJ6P1B6LV110039

6.      1992      INTERNATIONAL BUS  #1            1HVBAZRM9NH443993


Motion Passed


Gene Edmondson moved, seconded by Wanda Jackson to commit to a 3-year Administrative Service Agreement with Taylor & Sons.


Motion Passed


Mrs. Wanda Jackson moved, seconded by Ms. Pamela Harvey to adopt the following policies at the next regularly scheduled board meeting in February 2018:


a.      Sales of Building and Lands

b.      Authorized Use of Equipment

c.      Recruitment

d.      Sick Leave


Motion Passed


Dr. Millikin, acknowledge the school board members annual certificate of completion of required training (Act 705-2010)


Acknowledged training hours:

Mrs. Jacqueline Folks-29 

Mr. Gene Edmondson- 6  

Mrs. Shirley Fairchild- 8

Mrs. Wanda Jackson-14

Ms. Pamela Harvey- 30.5


Mr. Gene Edmondson moved, seconded by Ms. Pamela Harvey to adjourn.


Motion Passed